There Are A Lot of Speckles!

img_5760

It has been a long wait, but the wait is over. Speckles and His New Home has arrived! The last part of the publishing experience now begins: getting the book into the hands of readers. This seems to be the complicated part of the publishing experience, as I noted earlier. Now it is time to schedule events, do readings, go to markets, etc.

It is exciting, but can also feel overwhelming when thinking about all the time and effort that still needs to go into the distribution of books. I don’t regret it. It was all worth it to read this book I wrote and my sister-in-law illustrated to my sons on the couch.

I was at work when the book arrived working on planning the Spring semester for my students. My phone rang and it was my son Liam who loves to call people and talk on the phone.

“Hi Daddy!”

“Hey buddy, what’s up?”

“Speckles came today.”

“Awesome, buddy!”

“There are a lot of Speckles!” I laughed, imagining the boxes stacked taller than both of my sons.

“Do you want to read it when I come home tonight?”

“Yeah before bed.”

My wife, Rebekah, texted a photo of the boxes after I got off the phone with Liam. They were indeed stacked taller than both of my sons.

To be honest, it was hard to concentrate at work and not go around showing my colleagues the picture Rebekah sent to me. So that’s what I did… sometimes.

When I got home from work, my boys were playing on the floor with toys, and a book was out on the table. They told me they had already read it, and liked it a lot. I sat down and read it with them again before supper. And we read it again before bed. It was an experience I will cherish for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

