When It’s Not Your Day Job

whitewater

I had grand plans to focus more on my writing. I started to jot down ideas and spend more time thinking of possible stories. I got excited to participate in Storystorm (put on by Tara Lazar), which is a challenge for the month of January to let the creative ideas flow and collect at least one possible idea for a picture book everyday. I started off well, jotting down ideas and actually having time to think. That worked for the first 3 days in January. Then we returned from the holidays and I realized when writing isn’t your day job, it is hard to find time.

I am also in the midst of changing positions at my day job, moving to a new city, buying our first house, traveling to train for the new position, expecting our fourth son in late June, and trying to market and sell my first book while finishing up working on the second. All this does not leave much time for thinking, let alone writing. This is partly why I have been quiet on my blog and desperately trying to work on a story for the month of January. I have ideas that I would like to pursue, but getting a moment to sit down and pour those thoughts out onto any type of page is tricky.

It probably would be easier if I didn’t enjoy my day job, but I do, which means much of my creativity and innovation flow into it. I am learning new information everyday, thinking through creative solutions, and learning a new side of the business. That is what I enjoy. When I come home to sit and write, my mind wants rest and to be honest so do I even if home for the past couple of weeks has been a hotel. I miss my family and spending time with them. They are a huge part of my storytelling. I feel it most when I sit down to write and my mind wanders wondering how they are doing, what they are doing, and how bedtime is going. I know I don’t sleep as well when they aren’t around to kick me and stick a hand in my face.

I still hope to post a story for my blog in the coming weeks, but I don’t want to post for the sake of posting. I want to be able to sit with the story, tell it to my sons (my first critics), allow my wife to give me feedback, and revise it some more. So here’s to finding time to think and write when much of life feels like riding a canoe down a raging river and you just want to make sure no one in the boat falls out.

Leave a Reply

